A project that aims to pave the way to personal development of our Thomasian alumni, the University of Santo Tomas Office of Alumni Relations (OAR) organized this year’s first pilgrimage. The pilgrimage is a biannual project started in 2016 where pilgrims visited 7 different parishes in Bataan. The following trips were made in Laguna, Pampanga and Batangas. Thirty alumni pilgrims, three OAR staff and Mr. Fredeswindo Medina, OAR’s officer-in- charge, joined the Visita Iglesia to seven churches in the province of Rizal.

The excursion started at the Our Lady of Light Parish in Cainta, one of the oldest Marian churches in the Rizal province. Following the first parish was Regina Rosarii Institute for Contemplation in Asia (RICA), a place in Tanay dedicated to retreats, recollections, seminars and the devotees of the Regina Rosarii. Regina RICA’s most significant structure is the Jose Barcena Jr. 71-foot image of the Our Lady of Regina Rica—an image of our mother carrying the baby Jesus—located at the top of one of the hills in their 13.5 hectare land. A visit to the Pililla Church, a parish that was established by the Franciscans in 1583 and was dedicated to Mary Magdalene, came after. After a 15-minute drive, the pilgrims then paid respect to the San Ildefonso De Toledo Parish in Tanay, one of the five Jubilee churches of the Diocese of Antipolo and a National Cultural Treasure Church declared by the National Commission for the Culture and the Arts in 2001. Famous for its classical and well-preserved architectural design, the St. Joseph Parish gave the pilgrims not only a glimpse of its rare wooden ceiling and its classic construction, but a preview of its rich culture and history. Aside from its altar the St. Jerome Parish Church also boasts the first-class relic in its possession. The pilgrims lined up to get a closer look of the community’s patron saint relic—a part of St. Jerome’s ribs. The culmination of the almost 12-hr journey was the St. John the Baptist Parish Church—a parish in Taytay where Blessed Pedro Calungsod served as an altar boy in the late 1600s.

A visit to the Pililla Church, a parish that was established by the Franciscans in 1583 and was dedicated to Mary Magdalene, came after. After a 15-minute drive, the pilgrims then paid respect to the San Ildefonso De Toledo Parish in Tanay, one of the five Jubilee churches of the Diocese of Antipolo and a National Cultural Treasure Church declared by the National Commission for the Culture and the Arts in 2001.

Famous for its classical and well-preserved architectural design, the St. Joseph Parish gave the pilgrims not only a glimpse of its rare wooden ceiling and its classic construction, but a preview of its rich culture and history. Aside from its altar the St. Jerome Parish Church also boasts the first-class relic in its possession. The pilgrims lined up to get a closer look of the community’s patron saint relic—a part of St. Jerome’s ribs. The culmination of the almost 12-hr journey was the St. John the Baptist Parish Church—a parish in Taytay where Blessed Pedro Calungsod served as an altar boy in the late 1600s.