The 1st Golf Tournament, labelled as “Rector’s Cup”, among Thomasian Alumni raised almost P7 million for the university’s athletes.

The event, held in Tagaytay Midlands Golf and Country Club last July 28, 2016, hauled 138 participants as they battled against the coveted Ramon Orlina’s Trophy.

Rector Rev. Fr. Herminio Dagohoy, O.P. mentioned that “we were actually thinking of an avenue where alumni can gather not in a formal set-up like homecomings and conferences, but on something they love and enjoy; thus, this sports gathering.”

He also described in his speech the life of the athletes and how this event can be a right opportunity to help them.

Alumni from the College of Science seals the coveted Ramon Orlina’s trophy with a shot of 286. Meanwhile, Faculty of Engineering and Faculty of Medicine and Surgery bagged the second and third places respectively who both scored 287. Engineering shot more birdies winning via countback over Medicine and Surgery.

The following is the list of individual winners for the fun hole awards.


Longest Drive Mr. Oscar Abesamis of Engineering
Most Accurate Drive Mr. Willy Chik
Nearest to the Pin Mr. Eduardo Yabut of Medicine and Surgery
Guest Ladies- Champion Ms. Lee So Young
Guest Men’s- Champion Mr. Willy Chik
Guest Men’s- 1st Runner Up Mr. Armand Batalla
Guest Men’s- 2nd Runner Up Mr. Eric Del Rosario
Men’s Alumni- Class C Champion Mr. Garry Chung of Architecture
Men’s Alumni- Class C 1st Runner Up Mr. Paolo Olalia of Science
Men’s Alumni- Class C 2nd Runner Up Mr. Jojo Legaspi of Science
Men’s Alumni- Class B Champion Mr. Mariano Arce, Jr. of Architecture
Men’s Alumni- Class B 1st Runner Up Mr. Art San Gabriel of Commerce
Men’s Alumni- Class B 2nd Runner Up Mr. Edwin Hernandez of Arts and Letters
Men’s Alumni- Class A Champion Mr. Stephen Olalia of Medicine
Men’s Alumni- Class A 1st Runner Up Mr. Rey Perez of Science
Men’s Alumni- Class A 2nd Runner Up Mr. Adones Baluyut of Architecture
Ladies Alumni- Champion Ms. Grace Atienza of Engineering
Ladies Alumni- 1st Runner Up Ms. Edna Gatmaitan of UST High School
Men’s Alumni Lowest Net Score Mr. Cesar Lacuna of Engineering
Men’s Alumni Lowest Gross Score Mr. Eduardo Yabut of Medicine


The funds raised shall be used in enhancing the skills and prowess of the Thomasian Athletes especially as they regain the long-time “Over-all Champion” title in the realm of sports like UAAP.

The tournament and event committee heads who enabled this event were Dr. Ian Laurel, Engr. Bong Fernando, Mr. Clarence Aytona, Atty. Peng Dela Rama, Mr. Edwin Hernandez, Dr. Elvis Llarena, Dr. Ray Malilay, Mr. Ed Nepomuceno, Atty. Dwight Ramos, Engr. Lawrence Pangan, and Mr. Rudy Olaso.

This event was also made possible by Hilmarc’s Construction Corporation; Dr. Robert Sy, Chairman of UST Alumni Association Inc. (USTAAI); Atty. Divina Law; DATEM Construction; IRONCON Builders; Mr. Ramon Orlina; Mr. Michael Blanco; Betis Craft; Mr. Wilfredo Layug; Mr. Michael Leyva; SY2; Nostrano Forma Co; Wilcon Builders; Metircon; Boysen; ASDEC Builders; Kenneth & Mock; Bostik; Urban Scope Design; Kuysen; Steeltech; Unitec Pipes; Emerald Vinyl; Crown Asia; Vpro Technical Solutions Inc.; IPM Construction; Philflex; Atlanta Industries Inc.; Laurel Development; Arch. Michael Peña; Mr. Greg Oliveros; AXA Philippines; and FMR Corporation.

The 2nd Rectors cup will be on January 2017. All alumni are enjoined to this event.


Show Buttons
Hide Buttons